ICC Champions Trophy Winners List 1998 To 2017 Runner Up, Year Wise Past Winner

ICC Champions Trophy Winners List

After ICC Cricket World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy is the most important tournament in cricket world. Here’s ICC Champions Trophy Winners List from the year 1998 to 2017 for the cricket lovers who want to know year wise winners. So, take a look at the past runner up who won the championship trophy for their country. The Championship tournament was started in the year 1998 and in the past it was recognized as ICC Knockout tournament. With the passage of time, the name of the tournament was changed to ICC Champions Trophy in 2002.

The tournament was conducted in every 2 years till 2006. After IPL was started in the year 2008, ICC Champions Trophy was concluded the very next year in 2009. From the year 2009 the ICC Champions Trophy tournament is conducted in every 4 years and is also recognized as the mini World Cup. The 2017 Champions Trophy was scheduled to commence on 1st June in England. So far, Australia and India are the considered to be the unbeaten teams if we go through the history of ICC Champions Trophy winning two tournaments.

In the year 1998, the championship trophy was won by South Africa at Bangladesh. From the year 2002 total 12 teams participated and were divided into 3 groups each. Only the top 2 teams are allowed to participate in the Quarter Final rounds. From the year 2006 only the top 8 ICC ranking teams were allowed to play for Championship Trophy and had two groups of 4 teams each.

ICC Champions Trophy Winners

Year Winner Runner-up Final Result Host
1998 South Africa West Indies South Africa won by 4 wickets Bangladesh
2000 New Zealand India New Zealand won by 4 wickets Kenya
2002 India, Sri-Lanka Sri Lanka and India named joint winners Sri Lanka
2004 West Indies England West Indies won by 2 wickets England
2006 Australia West Indies Australia won by 8 wickets India
2009 Australia New Zealand Australia won by 6 wickets South Africa
2013 India England India won by 5 runs England
2017 TBC TBC TBC England


Countries and Year wise number of titles of ICC Champions Trophy

Country Number of Titles Year
Australia 2 2006, 2009
India 2 2002, 2013
South Africa 1 1998
New Zealand 1 2000
Sri Lanka 1 2002
West Indies 1 2004


The first match was won by South Africa. However, New Zealand won the 2000 ICC Champions Trophy defeating India in finals. In the year 2002, due to extreme rains both the teams in the finals of ICC Championship Trophy, India and Sri Lanka, were declared winners of the trophy.

Going back in the year 2004, ICC Champions Trophy was won by West Indies, defeating England in the Finals. Australia won the 2006 ICC Champions Trophy beating the host India through DL method. The 2009 ICC Champions Trophy was taken by Australia after defeating South Africa by 6 wickets. The 2013 ICC Champions Trophy was won by India. The recent ICC Champions Trophy 2017 will also be held in England.

This is all about ICC Champions Trophy Winners List 1998 To 2017. To get more updated information, stay connected with us through our web portal that is coolexample.in

The Cool Team

Give us a chance to serve you with the best of information that we are willing to offer!!

admin123 has 1154 posts and counting.See all posts by admin123

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *